TIPS | How to Fight Your Colds

The cold weather has now settled in and won’t be going anywhere for the next four to five months (at least in Canada where I live). I caught my first cold of the season, last Tuesday night. I hate getting sick! And since I am not in elementary school anymore, there are no benefits of getting sick such as getting a day off of school. I vividly remember catching a cold about a year and a half ago that I was able to get rid of in a matter of days. It was the most satisfying thing ever. Here are some of my tips & tricks to fighting a cold. It is a battle, but if you stick to it, you will feel a million times better whether you beat it in 3 days or 2 weeks.

1) WATER:
Your body uses a lot of the water in your system to produce the mucus and phlegm that you get when you are sick. By drinking water, you are not only hydrating it, but you are also loosening all that mucus in your system. In addition, drinking water will keep your body cool and from overheating. The taste of water is never that pleasant when you are ill. I recommend squeezing in some lemon to help add a little flavour. DRINK, DRINK, DRINK! Don’t stop drinking that water! You’ll be peeing non-stop but I promise just this step will make you feel better.

2) SALT WATER: (optional)
This step is optional since not everyone gets a sore throat. However, the SECOND you feel a sore throat or an itchy throat, this step is HIGHLY recommended. Take a cup of warm water and mix in about half a teaspoon of salt. Gargle that cup of water in the back of your throat until you’ve finished it. Do this at about 4 times a day. **Don’t over salt your water because it will just make your throat more dry and irritate it more** (I made this mistake the first time) I am not kidding you, when I felt my sore throat developing I did this immediately, and my sore throat was completely gone by the next day! DO NOT stop gargling salt water just because your sore throat has disappeared, keep doing it for the next couple of days after it has gone to make sure!

3) WARM FLUIDS:
Green Tea and Honey is my go-to drink when I am sick. Drinking warm fluids will sooth your throat and your body. The steam from the cup will also sooth your nose! This will also apply to what you eat, soups are the best choice!

4) AVOID DAIRY:
When you decide to fuel your body with food avoid dairy. Why? I’ve read that it triggers your body to produce an increased amount of mucus. Not exactly sure if that is true. However, when I eat dairy when I’m sick, I do find that my body heats up right after eating. My head gets hot, and my body gets hot which makes me feel more ill. Therefore, I completely avoid it when I am sick.

5) BLOW YOUR NOSE!
I guess this could be optional/personal preference but I find it very unpleasant sitting next to someone who is constantly sniffling their nose (without out blowing it) and you can hear the mucus thicken. BLEGH! Please, just get rid of it. I mean sniffle all you want, but the less mucus people around you have to hear the better.

6) VASELINE
I only recently started to use vaseline and it is the best thing for nose blowing!! My nose ALWAYS got irritated, red and sore from non-stop nose blowing. When you use vaseline, it moisturizes and soothes your nose instantly! The plus side! It has no scent to it!

7) “COLD FIGHTING” DRINK
What you need:
– A stub of Ginger
– 1 & 1/2 Garlic cloves (YEUP!)
– 1/4 Lemon (or more)
– 2 teaspoons Honey
– 1 Cup of Water

In a pot, pour in your cup of water with your ginger slices, and halved garlic cloves and bring it to a boil. Once your water is boiling, let it boil for about 5 minutes then bring it down to a simmer and add in your lemon and honey. TA-DA! And that is your cold-fighting drink. It sounds nasty and it is. For the first 4 sips, I didn’t think it was that bad, and once it started to cool down it got worse (taste wise). However, if you are brave, down that cup and move on! I could only do one serving of this drink on my 2nd day of being sick. After that cup, I fell asleep and woke up feeling woozy and out of it. I immediately took a bath and felt better!

8) BATHS:
Taking a hot bath will make you feel relaxed and better in any situation. JUST DO IT ! You won’t regret it! šŸ™‚

9) VITAMIN C’s & COLD FX
I bought chewable vitamin C’s from the brand “Jamieson’s” they taste like candy which is a nice treat when you’re sick. I take about 2-4 tablets a day.

I’m not sure if this brand exists outside of Canada but ColdFX is a bottle I grab every time I feel myself starting to get sick. It claims that it is “Clinically proven to reduce the frequency, severity and duration of cold and flu symptoms.”

10) POSITIVE MIND
This I find plays a huge factor on whether I get better faster or slower. Whenever I keep a positive mind and not sulk in my bed while I’m sick, I feel like I always fight off the cold faster. I force myself to get up off the couch to make my own tea, my own bath, grab my water etc etc, and during those times that I am standing up and moving I trick my brain into thinking I am normal and not ill. I REALLY do find that this works. It sets your brain in motion and your body aiming for health and wellness. Thinking, “ughhhh my life sucks, I feel like sh*t, it’s the end of the world!” is NOT going to help your body get better.

I really hope my tips help all of you! I know they work for me EVERY time I’ve gotten sick. I caught this cold last Tuesday night (Dec 3, 2013) and aimed to get rid of it by Friday night (Dec 6, 2013) because I told my good friend C-Lao I’d come to Toronto for her dance team’s fundraiser. Even though I didn’t completely fight off my cold by that night, I felt 85% better on Friday and recorded this video. The only thing that made me feel sick still was my congestion, other than that, I was capable of driving, standing, and socializing that night in Toronto šŸ™‚ My mind was no where near thinking I was sick.

Sarah xo

Leave a Reply

